Free English Lesson - The New Coronavirus: Key Terms Explained - Perfectly Spoken
  • Social

 EXTRA, EXTRA!

Coronavirus Special

 

A Free Lesson to teach you how to talk about the Coronavirus in English

 

News Flash   

 

 

 

Learn to talk about the COVID-19 in English in 3 easy steps

 

We thank our media partner Reuters for allowing us to share this important video with all our students

1. Watch the video

(As many times as you like)

2. Read the Transcript

(Feel free to skip this if you understood the audio)

 

The new coronavirus: key terms explained

Here are some of the key terms surrounding the new coronavirus explained, as new words and phrases enter the mainstream and become conflated.
As health terms enter the mainstream, (…)

Here are some of the key terms surrounding the new coronavirus explained, as new words and phrases enter the mainstream and become conflated.

As health terms enter the mainstream, many words are being conflated.

Here’s a run down of the main ones,starting with “coronavirus,” not to be confused with COVID-19.

There are several human coronaviruses, just as there are many other types of human viruses.

 

The new one that emerged in China in December is called SARS-CoV2.

That causes the respiratory disease “COVID-19,” which has spread around the world, evolving into a “pandemic.”

Pandemic and epidemic are both descriptive terms rather than official classifications or rankings.

(SOUNDBITE) (English) U.S. PRESIDENT DONALD TRUMP, SAYING IN AN ADDRESS TO THE AMERICAN PEOPLE FROM THE OVAL OFFICE:

“Today, the World Health Organization officially announced that this is a global pandemic.”

Contrary to popular belief, the World Health Organization does not “declare” outbreaks as having a status.

Epidemic generally describes a disease outbreak over a wide geographic area.

Pandemic describes an epidemic that has spread to multiple countries on several continents.

(SOUNDBITE) (English) BRITISH PRIME MINISTER, BORIS JOHNSON, SAYING:

“ I’m self-isolating.”

Self-isolation applies to people who have symptoms, and to those who live with them.

It involves staying at home, and distancing yourself from others you live with as much as possible.

(SOUNDBITE) (English) ENGLAND HEAD COACH, EDDIE JONES, SAYING:

“Keep your discipline, keep your social distance.”

Courtesy: @ENGLANDRUGBY

“Social distancing”, meanwhile, has been introduced by many governments and is designed to contain the virus by reducing face-to-face contact as much as possible.

Quarantine is a way of separating and restricting those who may have been exposed to a disease.

(SOUNDBITE) (English) EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF WHO’S HEALTH EMERGENCIES PROGRAMME, MIKE J. RYAN, SAYING:“And going down isn’t just about a lockdown, and let go.”

A lockdown, or shutdown, is being used to describe more general and widespread restrictions on movement.

A vaccine is something that would be given to a healthy person to prevent them from being infected with a disease.

An anti-viral, meanwhile, is a type of medicine, or therapeutic, that would be given to try and treat a person who is infected with a viral disease – such as COVID-19.

Source: REUTERS / @ENGLANDRUGBY / UNRESTRICTED POOL / WHO / TWITTER/@BORIS JOHNSON

 

 

3. Complete the activities

(Download and test your learning today)

 

 

 

 

And more practice!

Special Facebook Live Practice Session

Free Facebook Live English Practice Sessions

Why not join Stephanie Marston live

on Monday 13th April 2020? It’s Free.

 

16:00h London
17:00h Paris
18:00h Moscow
19:00 Dubai
20:30 New Delhi
12:00h Rio de Janeiro

Register and get a reminder from Facebook

 

 

News Flash is a course included in the Student Plan and Pro Plan .

 

Don’t you have a subscription?

SUBSCRIBE NOW

 

Remember you can take your News Flash course at the same time as your other courses